Sarasota Memorial Health Care System
 
Home
Patients and Visitors
Services and Procedures
For Physicians
For Employees
 
About UsNews and InformationClasses and EventsCareers and EmploymentVolunteering


You are seeing this message because you have security settings on high, or you need the latest version of the Macromedia Flash Player.
This content requires the Macromedia Flash Player. To obtain the latest version click
Get Flash

Not just a hospital, The hospital
Athens Login
Athens
Help

Bishopric Medical Library
   » Mission
   » Location, hours, contact us
   » Staff, services
   » Submit request for Information
   » Benefactors

Electronic Resources
   » Databases
   » Journals
   » EBooks & Book Catalog
   » Reference Links
   » Sunrise Clinical Manager (tutorials)

Patient AND Consumer Health
Information


Continuing Medical Education
   » Presentations
   » Podcasts
   » CME Calendar
 
   » Licensure  

Nurses/Clinicians

   » Contact Hours
   » Competencies
   » Career Ladder
   » Policies and Procedures
   » Licensure
   » Reference Tools
   » Nursing Committees

Department Education Resources

For Physicians
   » Medical Staff Office
   » Physician Liaison Services

Sunrise Clinical Manager

Outlook Web Access


Magic Web

SIS Web

Information resources for medical professionals: databases, journals, reference books, etc.
Education and Clinical Practice
Mission / Services Education

 

Center For Nursing Excellence
1700 S. Tamiami Trail
Sarasota, FL 34239
3rd Floor Waldemere Tower

Director
Keri Hockett, PhD, ARNP, AOCN
941-917-7425
Keri-hockett@smh.com

 

Department overview
Contribution to strategic activities
Synopsis of activities
Staff directory


Department Overview
         E&CP is responsible for all clinical education competency and all clinical practice issues within the hospital. We directly support other departments such as Bayside, Pharmacy and Respiratory.

Contribution to Strategic Initiatives
        
 Performance Improvement:
          Determine competency needs of nursing staff and prioritize educational initiatives to enhance clinical performance. Initial areas of focus/education are Patient Safety, Falls,  IV therapy (Phlebitis and Infiltration), Acute Pain Management, Pressure Ulcer Program, Core Competencies.

          Physician Involvement: 
          Care Delivery Redesign/Collaborative Practice: Implement, monitor   and     evaluate Care Delivery Model to deliver exceptional patient and family quality care as measured by Patient, Staff, and Physician satisfaction and various clinical practice indicators.

           Financial Health:
           Enhance staff recruitment and retention through effective nurse development and internship programs (Critical Care, Obstetrics, Cardiac and Medsurg and Emergency Room), as measured by internal methods.

Synopsis of activities
  

  • Acute pain management program

  • Nursing orientation

  • New Nurse Development Program

  • Clinical Education
           CPR/ACLS
           AIDS/Domestic Violence
           Preceptor Workshop
           Career Ladder Program
                    LPN II, RN II, RN III

  • Health Unit Coordinator Program

  • Provider for Educational Contact Hours

  • Maintenance of house wide educational records

  • Patient Family education function for JCAHO

  • Coordinate Nursing Standards and Policies

  • Coordinate JCAHO initiatives:
            Pressure Ulcer Program
            Fall Program
            Patient Safety

Staff Directory

Adoryan, Marianne RN, BSN, M.A. Nurse Development Ext. 1761
Marianne-Adoryan@smh.com

Aukland, Margie

Administrative Assistant

Ext. 2281
Margie-Auckland@smh.com

Bass, Ron RN, BSN, MA

Clinical Educator, CPR

Ext. 1790
Ron-Bass@smh.com

Burch, Jane, RN, BSN, MA

Pressure Ulcer Program Coordinator/Wound Ostomy Team

Ext. 6049

Jane-Burch@smh.com

Community Class Registration

 

1755

Diffley, Karen RN

Nursing Standards & Practice

Ext 7377
Karen-Diffley@smh.com

Desiongco, Maribeth, RNC, BSN, MA

Clinical Educator, ACLS

Ext. 7282

Maribeth-Desiongco@smh.com

Duchesney, Joan RN, BSN, CWOCN, OCN

ET, Wound Ostomy Team

Ext 7425
Joan-Duchesney@smh.com

Haderlein, Bettina

Pain Management

Ext. 1757

Bettina-Haderlein@smh.com

Hockett, Keri  ARNP, MSN, AOCN, PhD

Director

Ext 7425
Keri-Hockett@smh.com

Oder, Dawn, RN

Center for Advance Surgery

Ext. 1963

Dawn-Oder@smh.com

Rheingans, Jennifer, RN, MSN, CPON

Nurse Research

Ext. 7724

Jennifer-Rheingans@smh.com

Scheb, Diane RN

Pain Team Coordinator

Ext. 1762
Dinae-Scheb@smh.com

Skelly, Cheryl RN

Pain Management

Ext. 2758
Cheryl-Skelly@smh.com

Zaccagnino, Janine RN, MSN

Stroke Program Coordinator

Ext. 6519
Janine-Zaccagnino@smh.com

 
 

 

Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records.  If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request,
do not send electronic mail to this entity.  Instead, contact Sarasota Memorial Health Care System Public Relations Offices by phone or in writing:
1700 South Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, Florida 34239 | 941-917-9000 or 800-764-8255.
CONSUMER DATA: Agency for Health Care Administration  | Centers for Medicare / Medicaid Services  |  JCAHO Public Notice 2006
Site optimized for Internet Explorer  |  Copyright © 2007. Sarasota Memorial Health Care System. All rights reserved.  |  Designed by Genuity Group, LLC